Sort by

Formula 1 Bell helmets from the 2016 season and older

The 2016 Formula 1 season was the 67th Formula 1 season. Lewis Hamilton was the drivers' defensive champion and his team Mercedes among the constructors. 21 grand prixs were held during the 2016 season, the longest Formula 1 season of all time. The Australian Grand Prix was the first race on March 20 and the season ended on November 27 at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Mercedes was crowned manufacturer's champion at the Japanese Grand Prix. Their drivers Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton competed for the drivers' world title until the last race of the season, with Rosberg winning the championship for the first time in his career.

Start of the championship
The very first Formula 1 Grand Prix was on May 13, 1950 at the Silverstone circuit in Great Britain. This first race was won by the Italian Giuseppe Farina in an Alfa Romeo. The first season of Formula 1 had 7 races, with many well-known circuits that we can still find on the calendar. Silverstone (GB), Monaco, Spa-Francorchamps (Be) and Monza (It). Besides winning the first race Farina also managed to win the championship in 1950.

The 1000 races were spread over 69 years in total. In those 69 years, Formula 1 traveled to 33 different countries, only once to Morocco. 73 circuits hosted a Grand Prix. In the United States 10 different circuits were used, in France 7 and in Spain 6. There is one circuit where a Grand Prix is ​​organized under three different names. The German Nürburgring was on the calendar under the name GP of Germany, GP of Europe and GP of Luxembourg. The Nürburgring got the name GP of Europe because a GP already took place in Germany, at the Hockenheim circuit. After the Spanish Jerez was allowed to organize a race under the name GP of Europe, the Nürburgring was given the name GP of Luxembourg.

Since 1955 there has been a ban on racing in Switzerland, but in 1982 the Swiss Grand Prix was on the Formula 1 calendar. This race was not in Switzerland, but just across the border in France.

In the 1000 races that have been driven, 764 drivers participated in a race in the championship, these drivers came from 38 different countries.

The title 'Youngest world champion in Formula 1' is in the name of Sebastian Vettel. The German was 23 years old in 2010 when he won his first championship in a Red Bull Racing car. The oldest world champion is Juan Manuel Fangio, in 1957 the driver from Buenos Aires was 46 years old when he won his last championship.

Max Verstappen was 17 years and 5 months old when he started in the Formula 1 Championship in 2015. But he was only 17 years and 3 days old when he was allowed to drive for the first time during a Grand Prix weekend. Then he drove the first free practice in Japan instead of the Frenchman Jean-Éric Vergne, who he also replaced in 2015 as a regular driver at Scuderia Toro Rosso. This makes him the youngest driver ever during a Grand Prix.

The oldest driver at the start of a GP was Louis Chiron, he was 55 years and 9 months old in 1955. In the history of Formula 1, there have been only two drivers who have ever driven with starting number 0. Jody Scheckter did this two races, and Damon Hill even drove the number 0 on his car for two seasons.

In addition to the records of Max Verstappen, we have another record in the Netherlands. Jan Lammers is the driver with the longest time between two races. Lammers retired from Formula 1 in 1982, but started another race at the 1992 Japanese Grand Prix.

© 2020 - 2024 frisianmodelcarshop formula racing Bell mini Helmets | sitemap | rss